The Wildcat Voice

Presidential Candidates of 2020

Back to Article
Back to Article

Presidential Candidates of 2020

Falyn Greene, Staff Writer

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

Though the next Presidential election is not until November of 2020, the path to becoming the next President of the United States has already begun.  According to Fox 8 News, there are 14 people currently running for President: 5 women and 9 men running. 


Cory Booker

Cory Booker:

A U.S. Senator from New Jersey, Booker  is a Democrat. A website called Cory Booker says that Booker graduated from Stanford University, the University of Oxford, and Yale Law School.



Julian Castro

Julian Castro:

Julian Castro, a former Secretary of Housing and Urban Development, is a democrat. According to Ballotpedia, Castro was mayor of San Antonio for five years and graduated from Stanford University and Harvard Law School.



John Delaney

John Delaney:

Former U.S. Representative from Maryland, John Delaney, is a democrat. Ballotpedia says he was first elected to the House of Representatives in 2012.


Tulsi Gabbard

Tulsi Gabbard:

U.S. Representative from Hawaii, Democrat Tulsi Gabbard, became the first Samoan American and the first Hindu member of the United States Congress. 



Kirsten Gillibrand


Kirsten Gillibrand:

U.S. Senator from New York, Kirsten Gillibrand, is a Democrat. Today she serves as a fourth-term United States Congresswoman. Her website states she brought both Democrats and Republicans together to win legislative victories.



Kamala Harris

Kamala Harris:

Democratic U.S. Senator from California, Kamala Harris, is the first African American and woman to serve as Attorney General of the state of California.




John Hickenlooper

John Hickenlooper:

Democrat, John Hickenlooper, served as the governor of Colorado for eight years. Prior to that he was the mayor of Denver.




Jay Inslee

Jay Inslee:

Governor of Washington, Jay Inslee, was a legislator in the Washington House of Representatives.





Amy Klobuchar

Amy Klobuchar:

U.S. Senator from Minnesota, Amy Klobuchar,  is the first woman elected to represent the State of Minnesota in the United States Senate.



Beto O’Rourke

Beto O’Rourke:

Former U.S. Representative from Texas, Beto O’Rourke, served in the U.S. House, representing Texas’ 16th Congressional District.



Bernie Sanders

Bernie Sanders:

U.S. Senator from Vermont, Bernie Sanders, will be be attempting his second run at President.  Last year he lost to Hillary Clinton in the primaries. He describes himself as a democratic socialist and is the longest-serving Independent in congressional history.  He has raised more than 18 million dollars in his campaign so far.



Elizabeth Warren

Elizabeth Warren:

U.S. Senator from Massachusetts, Elizabeth Warren, is often recognized for her original thinking and political courage. She is an expert in bankruptcy law.  Though she was once a Republican voter, she has transitioned to the Democratic Party.




Andrew Yang

Andrew Yang:

The founder of Venture for America, Andrew Yang, is a Democrat. A website called Yang2020 says that he is worried about America’s future.  One of his main talking points is the impending impact of artificial intelligence.



Donald Trump

Donald Trump:

President of the United States, Donald Trump, is running for again and according to a website called Trump Pence, he has always dreamed big and pushed the boundaries of what is possible. He also wants to make America better.



America’s president will be decided on November 3rd of 2020. Until then Americans will learn more about each candidate and can support the candidates they like best by donating to their campaigns. 

Navigate Left
  • Presidential Candidates of 2020


    The Face Time bug brings major concerns about Apple security

  • Presidential Candidates of 2020


    Deep freeze strikes the Midwest; temperatures plummet to Arctic levels

  • Presidential Candidates of 2020


    Cleveland’s 3rd annual Women’s March takes place amidst snowstorm

  • Presidential Candidates of 2020


    Florida ranks first in bicycle-related deaths

  • Presidential Candidates of 2020


    China plants “mini garden” on the far side of moon

  • Presidential Candidates of 2020


    Longest-ever government shutdown comes to an end after thirty-five days

  • Presidential Candidates of 2020


    Youth homelessness on the rise

  • Presidential Candidates of 2020


    Trump’s response to the Mexican border

  • Presidential Candidates of 2020


    California wild fire the deadliest and most damaging in history

  • Presidential Candidates of 2020


    Robots taking human jobs

Navigate Right
The student news site of Mayfield Middle School
Presidential Candidates of 2020